Pioneers News · 2019 Hockey Award Winners

METRO DETROIT — Another season on the ice has passed for the boys and girls teams in the Catholic High School League, and the CHSL has once again handed out awards for the top players.

The CHSL dishes out awards in three categories: All-Catholic, All-League and All-Academic.

For the season, two CHSL squads captured state championships: Novi Detroit Catholic Central (boys) and Farmington Hills Mercy (girls).

Following is a breakdown of the awards.

• Division 1
Seniors Mitch Morris, Joe Borthwick and Brendal Hill, Catholic Central; seniors Bryce Kallen, Troy Clark and Preston Hazelton, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s; senior Chance DeSana and junior Drew Adams, Riverview Gabriel Richard; junior Cristian Bronzino and sophomore Evan Verschaeve, Warren De La Salle; senior Ethan Nystrom, Birmingham Brother Rice; senior Connor McGrath, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood; and junior Adam Yost, Dearborn Divine Child.

• Division 2
Juniors Evan Taylor and Luke Metropoulos, Allen Park Cabrini; senior Aidan Brewer, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; juniors Will Nicholson and Tristan Kelly, and freshman Doug Wood, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett.

• Division 1
Seniors Carter Korpi, Rylan Clemons and Zach Allan, Catholic Central; seniors Preston Linarcic and Jake Dundas, and junior Kris Petryla, St. Mary’s; juniors Jacob Emery and Nathan Vazquez, Riverview Gabriel Richard; seniors Jeremy Coppola and Cameron Chrisman, De La Salle; junior DJ Dixon, Brother Rice; senior Cam Hellman, Cranbrook; and senior Luc Bergeron, Divine Child.

• Division 2
Seniors Austin Molina and Alex Teed, Cabrini; senior Jack DiMarzo, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; and seniors Dan Bowen and Luke Zinn, and sophomore Grant Lindsay, Liggett.

• Division 1
Senior Ryan Marra, Catholic Central; senior Michael Strouse, St. Mary’s; senior Hayden Flynn, Riverview Gabriel Richard; senior Brendan Pelto, De La Salle; senior Keaton Vogel, Brother Rice; senior David Blasky, Cranbrook; and senior Lucas Watson, Divine Child.

• Division 2
Senior Matthew Gavlick, Cabrini; senior Vince Vermeulen, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; and senior Darcy Huang, Liggett.